Washington State University

Edward R. Murrow Award Winners of 2010

Advancing the Murrow Legacy:
Ethics and Responsibility in the New Media Landscape

April 20 7:00 p.m. • Beasley Performing Arts Coliseum • Free

A roundtable discussion featuring public media correspondents Judy Woodruff and Deborah Amos, along with ProPublica senior editor Robin Fields, highlights the 2010 Edward R. Murrow Symposium. The distinguished communicators will exchange views about media ethics and responsibility following presentation of Edward R. Murrow awards for Lifetime Achievement to Woodruff and Amos and an award for media entrepreneurship to ProPublica, which won a Pulitzer Prize this spring.

"Judy and Deborah embody the Murrow standards of ethics, responsibility, and journalistic courage. ProPublica is a model of innovation in public service journalism," said Lawrence Pintak, founding dean of the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication, which sponsors the day-long symposium. This year's events focus on transformational media.

Woodruff will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award/Television; Amos will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award/Radio. Fields will receive the entrepreneurship award on behalf of ProPublica. Dean Pintak, an internationally recognized broadcast journalist and educator with expertise in Middle East media and communication issues, will present the awards and moderate the roundtable discussion.

WSU and Murrow College sustain strong ties with public media
"The choice of Judy Woodruff and Deborah Amos elegantly underscores the value we place on the integration of Northwest Public Radio and KWSU/KTNW television into the college," Dr. Pintak said.

Northwest Public Radio, a statewide NPR network owned by WSU, became part of the Murrow College on February 1. Public television stations KWSU and KTNW were moved from the WSU Office of Information Technology Services to the college in September.

Woodruff's broadcasting career spans more than three decades
Now co-host and senior correspondent for the Public Broadcasting Service's PBS Newshour, Woodruff has covered politics and general news for more than three decades with a number of media organizations. As senior correspondent for CNN, she anchored the weekday political program Inside Politics. She also played a central role in the network's political coverage and major news stories.

Woodruff previously served as chief Washington correspondent for The MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour and also anchored the PBS documentary series Frontline with Judy Woodruff. She was White House correspondent for NBC News from 1977 to 1982, and wrote about her experiences in the book, This Is Judy Woodruff at the White House. She has served as a visiting professor at Duke University's Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy and as a visiting fellow at Harvard University's Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press.

Amos crosses continents, cultures during award-winning career
Amos covers the Middle East for NPR News. Her reports can be heard on Morning Edition, All Things Considered, and Weekend Edition. Her return to NPR follows a decade of work in television news, including ABC's Nightline and World News Tonight, and the PBS programs Frontline and NOW with Bill Moyers.

Amos previously served as NPR's London Bureau Chief and was based in Amman, Jordan, as a foreign correspondent. She has received several awards for her reporting, including the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award and a Breakthru Award. Her coverage of the Gulf War won her widespread recognition. Her latest book, Eclipse of the Sunnis: Power, Exile, and Upheaval in the Middle East, was published last autumn. After joining NPR, Amos directed and then produced Weekend All Things Considered before producing several award-winning documentaries.

ProPublica breaks new ground in public service reporting
An independent, nonprofit news organization based in New York, ProPublica employs some of the nation's top reporters and editors to conduct investigative journalism in the public interest. Their work is provided for free to news partners for publication or broadcast and to the public online. The digital news group picked up a 2010 Pulitzer Prize for an article published in The New York Times.

ProPublica senior editor Robin Fields joined the year-old organization in 2008. She previously was an investigative reporter for the Los Angeles Times, where she covered such topics as rogue political fundraiser Norman Hsu, California's troubled adult guardianship system, and abuses at the J. Paul Getty Trust. Fields began her career at the Sun-Sentinel in South Florida. She has received a National Journalism Award for investigative reporting, a Sigma Delta Chi Public Service Award, and an Associated Press Managing Editors Public Service Award.

A day to explore transformational media
The thirty-sixth Murrow Symposium opens at 8:30 a.m. with remarks by Professor Pintak followed by workshops and breakout sessions covering a range of media topics, from social communications and digital newspapers to foreign reporting and crisis communications.

A 9:00 a.m. panel discussion, "New Media, New Careers: How Social Media is Transforming the Communication Landscape," featuring Kathy Best, managing editor for digital news and innovation at The Seattle Times, and Phil Gomes, senior vice president of Edelman Digital and senior advisor to the Society for New Communications Research. Best heads the Seattle Times Online reporting team whose innovative use of social media helped them also win a 2010 Pulitzer Prize.

The afternoon plenary session, "The Digital Future of Public Broadcasting," features several leaders in the media industry, including Amos, along with Ellen McDonnell, NPR executive director of news programming; Madhulika Sikka, executive producer of NPR's Morning Edition; and Steve Bass, president and CEO of Oregon Public Broadcasting. The evening roundtable offers this year's award recipients a new format to interact with the audience. All events are open to students and other members of the University community.

Murrow awards honor top communicators
Previous winners of Edward R. Murrow Achievement awards include Don Hewitt, creator and executive producer of the CBS news magazine 60 Minutes, David Fanning, executive producer of PBS's Frontline, Tom Brokaw, Peter Jennings, Daniel Schorr, Walter Cronkite, Sam Donaldson, Bernard Shaw, Christiane Amanpour, Keith Jackson, Ted Turner, and Al Neuharth.

Judy Woodruff
Judy Woodruff

Deborah Amos
Deborah Amos

Robin Fields
Robin Fields
The Edward R. Murrow College of Communication, Washington State University, 101 Communication Addition, P.O. Box 642520,
Pullman, WA 99164-2520, 509-335-1556, Contact Us